In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 1659
Online now 2122 Record: 9788 (12/4/2012)
The place for Tiger fans to talk football, basketball and recruiting
The place for Tiger fans to talk about everything Auburn and not!
Buy and sell your Auburn Tiger tickets here.
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
Okay, this bothers the mess out of me and I hope there is a logical explanation someone knows so I can stop getting frustrated about it. Why is it that when the punting team, either intentionally or accidentally, touches the punt the ball is down at that spot even if it rolls another 10 yards? If the punting team touches the ball at the 1 yard line but then rolls or bounces into the end zone, the punt is not called down and it ends up being a touchback? You constantly see guys scrambling to gather the ball in when near the goal line, even if they've already touched it. They dang near kill themselves jumping and flipping around trying to get possession of the ball and keep it out of the end zone. If they fail, ref says nope, that's a touchback.??? If the same thing happened out at the thirty yd. line the ref would be moving the ball up to where it was originally touched.
This is what it looks like when a man makes heaven
come out of his six string
This is what I found:
The slapping of the kicked ball or touching of the ball is an "illegal touching". The illegal touching occurred at the 1 yardline so that is one spot possible spot [illegal touching spot]. The second possible spot on this play is where the kick ended. In your play the Receiving team has the option of electing the spot where the kick ended or the first touching spot. Since the ball did not ever go into the end zone there is no touchback, but if the kicked ball became dead in the endzone then a touchback would be an option. If the Kicking team would have possessed the kicked ball with firm control, clearly in the field of play the kick would have ended at the spot the Kicking team gained firm control [possession] of the ball and the ball would have become come dead as soon as it was possessed by the Kicking Team. If the Kicking team were to have possessed the ball at the one yardline rather than just slapping it, the ball would have been dead there and both the end of the kick and the illegal touching spot would have been the same spot.
The illegal touching does not cause the ball to become dead, the ball remains alive until dead by rule. The term illegal touching is a term used in the NCAA rules; First touching is a term used under the National Federation of High School Association Rules.
This is correct. The receiving team has the right to take the ball at spot of first touching and there can be more than on spot. For Example, the kicking team can touch the ball at the one, the ball bounces back and is touched at the 5 and is downed. The receivers can take the ball at the 5. A kick isn't dead until it is dead by rule of the ball is possessed.
What happens if a member of the kicking team squats the ball backwards so hard at the 2 yard line that the ball ends up resting at the 30 yard line without being touched by any other players... does the receiving team take possession at their 2 yard line or their 30 yard line?
Auburn '99, Beta Zeta of Theta Xi
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports