Online Now 273

Newton wins 2010 Heisman Trophy

NEW YORK -- The third time is quite charming for Auburn and Cam Newton.

Cam Newton is the 76th Heisman Trophy winner/Todd Van Emst photo

Newton was awarded the 76th Heisman Trophy Saturday night in a lopsided vote, beating out quarterback Andrew Luck of Stanford, running back LaMichael James of Oregon and quarterback Kellen Moore of Boise State.

“Before every single season every team in the country sets its sights on doing something special. For us to see this come to fruition, it’s something very special,” Newton said. “Just playing with a lot of unselfish guys has been great.

“It’s not just one performance by one person. It takes a whole team.”

Newton is the third player in Auburn history to win the award joining quarterback Pat Sullivan (1971) and running back Bo Jackson (1985). Both Sullivan and Jackson attended the ceremony held at the Best Buy Theatre in TImes Square.

“What a great honor for Cameron individually and his family,” Auburn coach Gene Chizik said. “What a great day for Auburn University and our great fans and the alumni and students. It’s just a great statement and a great day for everybody.

“Obviously, we know this is a team award. Cam will be the first to tell you that. But we couldn’t be more proud of him and his accomplishments and the accomplishments of the whole team. This is for everybody.”

Auburn is the ninth school to win three or more Heisman Trophies. Notre Dame and Ohio State have won seven apiece. Auburn is tied with Florida for the most by an SEC school.

Newton has swept the college football awards this year winning the Davey O’Brien Award for the nation’s top quarterback, the Maxwell Award for the country’s top player and being named the Walter Camp Foundation National Player of the Year.

Newton’s 49 touchdowns accounted for rank second in SEC history behind Tim Tebow’s 55 in 2007, the year he won the Heisman. Newton is the third player in FBS history to total 20 rushing and 20 passing touchdowns in a season. His current 188.16 passer rating is the highest in college football history.

Newton has led No. 1 Auburn to a perfect 13-0 record and SEC Championship. The Tigers will play undefeated and second-ranked Oregon Jan. 10 in the BCS National Championship game.

Already have an account? Sign In