Online Now 1363

Newton, Ziemba make All-America team

Auburn junior quarterback Cam Newton and senior offensive tackle Lee Ziemba have been named to the 2010 AFCA Coaches’All-America team.

Senior offensive tackle Lee Ziemba

Auburn joined Oklahoma State, Stanford and Wisconsin as the only schools to place two players on the 25-man All-America team. Ziemba and Newton are the first Auburn players to receive All-American honors since offensive guard Ben Grubbs in 2006, and it marks the first time theTigers have had multiple All-Americans in one season since 2004.

Newton has accounted for 43 touchdowns this season, which ranks second in the nation and tied for second in SEC history, setting Auburn single-season records for passing touchdowns (24) and rushing touchdowns(18) while also catching a TD pass. He has accounted for at least fou rtouchdowns in seven different games this season while setting the Auburn single-season scoring record with 114 points.

Newton ranks 11th nationally in rushing (111.3) and has set an SEC record for yards rushing by a quarterback with 1,336. He also owns thenation’s second-best passing efficiency mark of 185.57. Newton, who isa finalist for the Manning, Maxwell and Davey O’Brien Awards, is the first player in SEC history to total 2,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards in a single season.

Ziemba has started every game since arriving at Auburn as a true freshman, with his streak of 50 consecutive starts setting a school record. He has been a key component of Auburn’s record-setting offense that leads the SEC in scoring (41.6), total yards (490.1),rushing yards (291.3) and first downs (24).

The Tigers rushed formore than 300 yards against six consecutive SEC opponents for the first time in school history, and have scored at least 50 points a school-record five times this season. Newton and Ziemba have helped lead Auburn to a 12-0 record, including an 8-0 mark in the SEC.

The Tigers are ranked No. 1 in the nation in thelatest BCS standings and will play No. 18 South Carolina on Saturday inthe SEC Championship Game.

Newton was named Monday as one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award, presented to the nation’s outstanding quarterback. It is the only quarterback award that takes biowl performances into consideration.

Joining Newton as finalists are TCU’s Andy Dalton, ’s Colin Kaepernick, Stanford’s Andrew Luck, Arkansas’ Ryan Mallett, Boise State’s Kellen Moore, Ohio State’s Terrelle Pryor, Michigan’s Denard Robinson, Oregon’s Darron Thomas and Oklahoma State’s Brandon Weeden.

Already have an account? Sign In