Online Now 1659

Auburn releases basketball schedule

Auburn men’s basketball will face a challenging non-conference schedule when 2012-13 season gets underway Nov. 9. The Tigers will play in the Charleston Classic along with Murray State, St. John’s, Baylor and Boston College.

Barbee begins his 3rd season at Auburn.

The non-conference schedule also includes road games at Boston College and Illinois and home games against DePaul and Florida State.

“As we have grown the program, we have grown the schedule,” Auburn coach Tony Barbee said. “We have some challenging home games with Florida State, a NCAA Tournament team, and an improving Big East team in DePaul in the SEC-Big East Challenge.

“We have great road games at Boston College, an ACC team, at Illinois, a Big Ten team, in the United Center in Chicago during the holiday period, which will be a great game for us to get national exposure.”

Auburn will play an exhibition games against Victory University Oct. 30 and Georgia Southwestern State Nov. 5 before opening the season Nov. 9 against Indiana-Purdue Fort Wayne at the Auburn Arena.

The Tigers will play 18 SEC games for the first time since 1990-91. Auburn will play home and away games against Kentucky, Vanderbilt, Alabama, Ole Miss and Arkansas.

The Tigers play the other eight SEC teams once with home games against Florida, Texas A&M, Tennessee and LSU, and road games at Missouri, Georgia, Mississippi State and South Carolina.

“You look at the SEC increasing the league games from 16  to 18, and then the additions of Missouri and Texas A&M, this could be, if not one of the hardest schedules attempted at Auburn,” Barbee said. “That is what we want to do here. If you want to be the best, you have to play the best, and that is what we are going to do every year.”

2012-13 AUBURN BASKETBALL SCHEDULE (all times Central)

Oct. 30 (Tue.)    Victory Univ. (exh.), tba
Nov. 5 (Mon.)    Georgia Southwestern State (exh.), tba
Nov. 9 (Fri.)       IPFW, 7 pm
Nov. 15 (Thur.)  (1) Murray State (ESPN3), 7 pm
Nov. 16 (Fri.)     (1) St. John’s/College of Charleston (ESPN3), 4:30/6:30 pm
Nov. 18 (Sun.)   (1) Baylor/Colorado/Dayton/Boston College, tba
Nov. 21 (Wed.)  (2) at Boston College, tba
Nov. 25 (Sun.)   Rhode Island, tba
Nov. 30 (Fri.)     (3) DePaul, tba
Dec. 11 (Tue.)   Grambling State, tba
Dec. 15 (Sat.)    Furman, tba
Dec. 18 (Tue.)   Tennessee Tech, tba
Dec. 22 (Sat.)    Winthrop, tba
Dec. 29 (Sat.)    (4) Illinois, tba
Jan. 2 (Wed.)    Florida State, tba
Jan. 9 (Wed.)    LSU (CSS), 8 pm
Jan. 12 (Sat.)    at South Carolina (SECN), 12:30 pm
Jan. 16 (Wed.)   at Arkansas (SECN), 7 pm
Jan. 19 (Sat.)    Kentucky (ESPNU), tba
Jan. 23 (Wed.)   at Vanderbilt (ESPN3), tba
Jan. 26 (Sat.)    Ole Miss (FSN), 7 pm
Jan. 30 (Wed.)   at Georgia (CSS), 6 pm
Feb. 2 (Sat.)      at Missouri (SECN), 12:30 pm
Feb. 6 (Wed.)    Alabama (SECN), 7 pm
Feb. 9 (Sat.)      at Kentucky (SECN), 3 pm
Feb. 13 (Wed.)  Arkansas (CSS), 8 pm
Feb. 16 (Sat.)    Florida (SECN), 12:30 pm
Feb. 20 (Wed.)  Texas A&M (CSS), 8 pm
Feb. 23 (Sat.)    at Ole Miss (FSN), 4 pm
Feb. 26 (Tue.)    at Alabama (ESPNU), 6 pm
Mar. 2 (Sat.)      Vanderbilt (ESPN2), 8 pm
Mar. 6 (Wed.)    Tennessee (CSS), 8 pm
Mar. 9 (Sat.)      at Mississippi State (FSN), 4:30 pm
Mar. 13-17         (5) SEC Tournament (SEC Net/ABC), tba

(1) Charleston Classic (Charleston, SC – TD Arena)
(2) Charleston Classic Finale (Chesnut Hill, MA – Conte Forum)
(3) SEC-Big East Challenge (Auburn, AL – Auburn Arena)
(4) Chicago, IL (United Center)
(5) SEC Tournament (Nashville, TN – Bridgestone Arena)
* All Times Central

Already have an account? Sign In